University of Leeds



View Edition

Johannes Brahms » Violin Sonata no. 2 in A major » Bouillon, Gabriel - Heugel et Cie

One of a series entitled Edition française de musique classique published by Heugel in the years following World War I, combing several earlier series. The editorial preface reads:

The Edition française de musique classique was born of the patriotic enthusiasm which animated publishers, dealers, teachers and amateurs of music from the beginning of the war, and made them consider that the Edition française itself had to achieve a collective effort with the view to constituting a national edition of classic works, equalling, even surpassing, in respect both of importance and of presentation, the celebrated foreign collections  which are almost the only ones currently in use.
One knows what circumstances have held back the completion of this project and have compromised its very late realisation. But the Edition, created thanks to the active involvement of many people of goodwill, enables the publication of an already notable collection of volumes which will be unanimously recognised as representing the most perfect of the French classical editions.
Maison Heugel, from where originated in November 1914 the first idea for this collection, thought [it] a patriotic duty to acquire the Edition, and to pursue the work of its founders, until the complete realisation of their project. To this end, and in order to complete a more important and complete collection more quickly, it has incorporated in the existing edition the greater part of the excellent “Orphée” and “Bonnefond” collections, while also beginning the preparation of a considerable number of new works, in order to speedily build the most important, best presented, and least expensive classical edition.
With absolute confidence, Maison Heugel calls to all those who, from the first hour, have born witness to their commitment to a work born from a common struggle, and for which the active sympathy of all will assure the complete and rapid realisation.


Composer Johannes Brahms
Work Violin Sonata no. 2 in A major
Title Sonate
Publisher Heugel et Cie
City Paris
Date 1925
Publication Number
Instrumentation Violin and Piano – 1 Violin · 1 Others (Piano)
Partly Recomposed No


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
Preface E.F.524 Printed
Violin E.F.524 Printed Printed