University of Leeds



View Edition

Robert Volkmann » String quartet in G minor » David, Ferdinand - C. A. Spina

The edition contains no printed performance markings by David, but has been extensively annotated by him. The copy is part of the Uppingham Collection, currently held in the Brotherton Special Collections, University of Leeds. On the title page an inscription near foot reads: 'Zum ersten Male gespielt im Ab[onnement] Quartett im Gewandhause am 31 März 1857 FD'.


Composer Robert Volkmann
Work String quartet in G minor
Title Quartett
Publisher C. A. Spina
City Vienna
Date 1854 (October) [Source: Hofmeister - December 1854]
Publication Number
Instrumentation String Quartet – 2 Violins · 1 Viola · 1 Cello
Partly Recomposed No


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
Title page 10,091 Printed Manuscript
Vl 1 10,091 Printed Manuscript
Vl 2 10,091 Printed Manuscript
Vla 10,091 Printed Manuscript
Vlc 10,091 Printed Manuscript