University of Leeds



View Edition

Robert Volkmann » String Quartet in A minor » David, Ferdinand - Breitkopf & Härtel

The edition contains no printed performance markings by David, but has been extensively annotated by him. The copy is part of the Uppingham Collection, currently held in the Brotherton Special Collections, University of Leeds.

The title page bears an inscription in red pencil saying that these parts were used for a performance in the Leipzig gewandhaus in 21st December 1857. In the second movement, violin 1 includes a substantial pasted-in section in MS.

A separate copy of page 7 (the first page of the Adagio molto), without David's pasted manuscript, is given as a separate file.


Composer Robert Volkmann
Work String Quartet in A minor
Title Quartett
Publisher Breitkopf & Härtel
City Leipzig
Date 1853 (December) [Source: Hofmeister - February 1854]
Publication Number
Instrumentation String Quartet – 2 Violins · 1 Viola · 1 Cello
Partly Recomposed No


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
title page 8780 Printed Manuscript
Vl1 8780 Printed Manuscript
Vl1 page 7 8780 Printed
Vl2 8780 Printed Manuscript
Vla 8780 Printed Manuscript
Vlc 8780 Printed Manuscript