University of Leeds



View Edition

Louis Spohr » Violin Concerto no. 9 in D minor » Lauterbach, Johann - Pohle

From Lauterbach's Neue Concert-Studien, vol. 1 no. 3.

The editor's note on the left-hand side of the first page translates as: 'The number 5 indicates the extension of the 4th finger while the hand remains in the lower position. If the sign =  is marked above or below the fingering, this is not to be understood as in the usual position, but on the next lower string, 4 positions higher.'

That on the right-hand side: 'In this concerto there are several staccato runs with free insertion [editorial intervention?].  The staccato will succeed better if the bow first has contact with the string and therefore, the first note is marked Π naturally to be taken at the point of the bow and without any particular emphasis. In the original all the notes are marked V.'  

Composer Louis Spohr
Work Violin Concerto no. 9 in D minor
Title Concert no. 9
Publisher Pohle
City Bremen
Date 1890 (January) [Source: Hofmeister - February 1890]
Publication Number
Instrumentation Solo Violin – 1 Violin
Partly Recomposed No


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
Title page HP734.739 Printed
Violin HP734.739 Printed Printed