University of Leeds



View Edition

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy » String Quartet no. 5 in E flat major » Unknown, - Breitkopf und Härtel

The set of Mendelssohn's op. 44 quartets with manuscript marking of unknown origin once belonging to William Hamilton (about whom nothing is known). It has been in the Bodleian Library, Oxford, shelfmark: Mus. 177 c. 120 (1-3), since 1969. The set contains detailed performance markings in at least two unidentified hands. A single hand has added rehearsal letters in all four parts of op. 44 no. 1. The two upper parts in all three quartets have been marked up in pencil with comprehensive fingering and bowing by a single person.  The viola parts typically contain only a few fingerings, apparently in a different hand. The cello parts are bowed and fingered in another hand. Annotations suggest a 19th-century German origin for these markings.


Composer Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Work String Quartet no. 5 in E flat major
Title Quartetto III
Publisher Breitkopf und Härtel
Date 1850 ±2 years
Publication Number
Instrumentation String Quartet – 2 Violins · 1 Viola · 1 Cello
Partly Recomposed No


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
Title page 6024 Printed
vl 1 6024 Printed Manuscript
vl 2 6024 Printed Manuscript
vla 6024 Printed Manuscript
vlc 6024 Printed Manuscript