University of Leeds



View Edition

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy » String Quartet no. 1 in E flat major » David, Paul - Hofmeister

The manuscript annotations occur in the first violin part of all Mendelssohn's quartets (except op. 13) in the bound volumes (missing a cello part), which contain the quartets from op. 12 to op. 44 no. 3 (Oxford, Bodleian Library, shelfmark: Tyson Mus. 1192/1 (1-5)); there are none in the other two surviving parts of the set. The handwriting is identifiable as Paul David's by comparison with markings in copies in the Uppingham Collection. Paul David's markings reproduce many of his father's original pencil markings from the similar set of parts (Oxford, Bodleian Library, shelfmark: Tyson Mus. 1191/1 (1-5)) that he inherited on Ferdinand David's death. In Ferdinand David's copy these pencil markings, which clearly preceded his much more detailed blue crayon marking, have mostly been overwritten or deleted. For further discussion see my article Performance Markings in Mendelssohn's String Quartets.


Composer Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Work String Quartet no. 1 in E flat major
Title Quatuor
Publisher Hofmeister
Date 1830 [Source: Hofmeister November/December 1830]
Publication Number
Instrumentation String Quartet – 2 Violins · 1 Viola · 1 Cello
Partly Recomposed No


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
vl 1 1515 Printed Manuscript