University of Leeds



View Edition

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy » String Quartet no. 4 in E minor » David, Ferdinand - Breitkopf und Härtel

This set of parts (Berlin, Staatsbibliothek) was evidently presented to Ferdinand David by Mendelssohn at the time of publication as indicated by Mendelssohn's fragmentary dedication to him in the bottom right-hand corner of the title page of op. 44 no. 1, unfortunately clipped during later binding. It is only lightly annotated, but op. 44 no. 2 in particular shows evidence (inserted rehearsal letters) of having been used in performance or rehearsal. Occasional markings in all four parts are also evidence of use. In the first violin part some markings are by Ferdinand David, but others are in a different, unidentified hand.


Composer Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Work String Quartet no. 4 in E minor
Title Quartetto II (FD 1)
Publisher Breitkopf und Härtel
Date 1839 [Source: copy]
Publication Number
Instrumentation String Quartet – 2 Violins · 1 Viola · 1 Cello
Partly Recomposed No


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
vl 1 6023 Printed Manuscript
vl 2 6023 Printed Manuscript
vla 6023 Printed Manuscript
vlc 6023 Printed Manuscript