University of Leeds



View Edition

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart » String Quintet in G minor » David, Ferdinand - Breitkopf & Härtel

These files are taken from a later issue in Breitkopf's Kammer-Musik series. David's edition of the five Mozart string quintets, the text of which is reproduced in this later re-issue, is first listed in Hofmeister in February 1862. David indicated slurring and articulation carefully, but did not provide any fingering. This is the same procedure he initially adopted in editing Mozart's String Quartets at about the same time, but in the editions of the last three quartets he began adding fingerings and in the new edition of the quartets, issued around the time of his death, fingerings were added to the first seven.

[C. B.]

Composer Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Work String Quintet in G minor
Title Quintette
Publisher Breitkopf & Härtel
City Leipzig
Date 1895 ±2 years [Source: [estimate]]
Publication Number
Instrumentation String Quintet (221) – 2 Violins · 2 Violas · 1 Cello
Partly Recomposed No


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
Vl1 KM95/96 Printed Printed
Vl2 KM95/96 Printed Printed
Vla1 KM95/96 Printed Printed
Vla2 KM95/96 Printed Printed
Vlc KM95/96 Printed Printed