University of Leeds



View Edition

Georg Frederic Handel » Concerto in G minor » David, Ferdinand - Bartholf Senff

The edition was issued both in full score with separate instrumental parts and in a version for violin and piano. The score contains David's bowings and all his fingerings for the 1st solo violin part as well as his fully fingered cadenza for the the three solo instruments. This is one of the few published editions that provides evidnece of his known practice of preparing orchestral material for performance by the Gewandhaus orchestra. The others are his published edition of Bach's third orchestral suite and his personal set of parts of Bach's 4th Brandenburg Concerto (from the Uppingham Collection) for which he meticulously marked all the parts in orange and blue crayon as well as writing out a continuo part.


Composer Georg Frederic Handel
Work Concerto in G minor
Title Concerto grosso in G minor
Publisher Bartholf Senff
City Leipzig
Date 1867 ±2 years [Source: estimate]
Publication Number
Instrumentation – 2 Violins · 1 Viola · 1 Cello · 1 Double Bass
Partly Recomposed No


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
Violin 515 Printed Printed