University of Leeds



View Edition

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy » Violin Concerto in E minor » David, Ferdinand - Breitkopf & Härtel

This copy from the Uppingham Collection, carries Ferdinand David's initials stamped on the the first page (probably by his son, Paul after 1873). This copy was clearly not used by Ferdinand David for performance. In all the copies we know he played from, he made many annotations, most often in blue crayon or occasionally in red/orange crayon or pencil. He did this even in his own published editions, often making quite significant changes to his printed performance markings. He seems constantly to have re-thought his way of playing things. Particularly fascinating examples of this can be seen in the copies of the Mozart Duos and David’s collection of Baroque pieces in Die Hohe Schule des Violinspiels

The copy of the Violin Concerto reproduced here lacks a title page, but the plate number identifies it as the edition by David, consistent with the Hofmeister date. This edition was included in David's collection Violin-Concerte Neuerer Meister, plate no. 13564, published later in 1865. [C. B.]

Composer Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Work Violin Concerto in E minor
Title Concerto
Publisher Breitkopf & Härtel
City Leipzig
Date 1865 (February) [Source: Hofmeister - April 1865]
Publication Number
Instrumentation Solo Violin – 1 Violin
Partly Recomposed No


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
Violin 10619 Printed Printed