University of Leeds



View Edition

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy » String Quintet no. 1 in A major » Hellmesberger Quartet, The - Universal

The Hellmesberger Quartet (or the editors at Universal) appear to have used the Peters edition (pl. no. 6004), which followed the collected edition edited by Julius Rietz in having a number of different accidentals as well as different bowing from the original Simrock edition (see the copy annotated by Ferdinand David  on this website).


Composer Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Work String Quintet no. 1 in A major
Title Quintet
Publisher Universal
City Vienna
Date 1903 ±1 years [Source: plate number comparison]
Publication Number 859
Instrumentation String Quintet (221) – 2 Violins · 2 Violas · 1 Cello
Partly Recomposed No


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
Vl1 859 Printed Printed
Vl2 859 Printed Printed
Vla1 859 Printed Printed
Vla2 859 Printed Printed
Vlc 859 Printed Printed