University of Leeds



View Edition

Ludwig van Beethoven » Violin Concerto » Dessauer, Heinrich; Joachim, Joseph - Schott

The edition is designated as 'Newly revised and provided with numerous explanatory remarks for concert performance with special reference to the artistic conception of Joseph Joachim.' The Schott version, plate 26151, has the text in German; an English version was published six years later by Carl Fischer, New York, 1903, plate no. 7993-C.R.-58. There are some differences between the two. The most striking is the faulty English translation of the note at the beginning of the first movement, which reads: "The first movement is frequently taken at too rapid a tempo. The indication 'ma non troppo' is only intended to convey the idea that the tempo should not be chosen at too rapid a gait but still not rob the movement of the real character of a flowing Allegro; the interpretation would otherwise be too heavy and dull." An accurate translation of the original German however, would be: "The first movement is very frequently taken too slowly. The indication 'ma non troppo' is only intended to convey the idea that we should not choose a much too rapid tempo, but still not deprive the movement of the character of a flowing Allegro; otherwise the performance would be too ponderous and halting."
For further information on this edition see the introductory comments on Joachim's 1905 edition. 

[C. B.]

Composer Ludwig van Beethoven
Work Violin Concerto
Title Concerto
Publisher Schott
City Mainz
Date 1897 (October) [Source: Hofmeister - 1897-10]
Publication Number
Instrumentation Solo Violin – 1 Violin
Partly Recomposed No


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
Preface (Eng) 26151 Printed
Title page (Eng 26151 Printed
Violin (English 7993-C.R.-58 Printed Printed
Violin (German) 26151 Printed Printed