University of Leeds



View Edition

Johann Sebastian Bach » Violin Concerto no 1 in A minor » Alard, Jean Delphin - E. Gérard

No. 49 from Les maîtres classiques du violon. Also published by Schott, 1875.

A manuscript copy of the solo and accompaniment parts of this concerto was copied by Bernhard Molique and conveyed from him, via Ferdinand Hiller, to Pierre Baillot around 1830. The text in this copy was either adapted by Molique or, more probably, derived from a copy of the work that is no longer extant. It differs from Bach's autograph in many respects, for instance with regard to the rhythms at the beginning of the Adagio. Since Alard's copy follows Molique's variants, it is probable that it was based on Baillot's copy, which will shortly also be made available on this site.

[C. B.] 

Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Work Violin Concerto no 1 in A minor
Title Premier concerto en la mineur
Publisher E. Gérard
City Paris
Date 1874 ±1 years
Publication Number CM11184
Instrumentation Violin and Piano – 1 Violin · 1 Others (Piano)
Partly Recomposed No


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
Violin CM11184 Printed Printed