University of Leeds



View Edition

Ludwig van Beethoven » Cello Sonatas, arr. Violin » David, Ferdinand - Breitkopf & Härtel

Beethoven's cello sonatas arranged for violin by David. First published separately (op. 5 pub. 1866).

Very sparing performance markings, but often rewrites the cello part (see annotations). Few fingerings, but some extended markings to remain on one string in op. 102 no 2, and a few other fingerings implying portamento in op. 69. Retains original key, so that a transposed piano part is not required. However, this creates some difficulties with lower-lying passages, and David's solutions are not always convincing.

Composer Ludwig van Beethoven
Work Cello Sonatas, arr. Violin
Title Sonaten und Variationen
Publisher Breitkopf & Härtel
City Leipzig
Date 1874 (March) [Source: Hofmeister - May 1874]
Publication Number
Instrumentation Violin and Piano – 1 Violin · 1 Others (Piano)
Partly Recomposed Yes


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
Title page Printed
Vl 13645 op. 5 no. 1 Printed Printed
Vl 13645 op. 5 no. 2 Printed Printed
Vl 13645 op. 69 Printed Printed
Vl 13645 op. 102 no. 1 Printed Printed
Vl 13645 op. 102 no. 2 Printed Printed