University of Leeds



Editor: Adolph Brodsky

b. Taganrog, Russia (Rostov oblast), 21st March, 1851. d. Manchester, 22nd January, 1929

Teacher: Josef Hellmesberger (1860-6)


  • Brahms
  • Tchaikovsky (gave first performance of Tchaikovsky Concerto in 1881, and was an early exponent of the Brahms Concerto),
  • Grieg (first performance of his C minor Sonata with the composer as pianist),
  • Elgar,
  • Ferdinand Laub,
  • Hans Sitt,
  • Joachim,
  • Carl Reinecke,
  • Alexander Siloti,
  • Eugen D'Albert,
  • Hans Richter,
  • Hans von Bülow,
  • Walter Damrosch,
  • Charles Hallé,
  • Thomas Beecham,
  • Hamilton Harty.

Biographer: E Zaltsberg: Great Russian Musicians (Oakville, Ontario, 2002).

See also: G. Thomason: 'The Brodsky Archives at the RNCM', Brio, 22/2 (1985),pp. 46-49.

Professional Appointments: Violinist in Imperial Opera Orchestra, Vienna (1868) Second Professor of violin, Moscow Conservatoire (1875) Professor of violin, Leipzig Conservatoire, (1882) Leader, Dmarosch Orchestra, New York (1892) Leader, Hallé Orchestra (1895-6) Violin Professor, Royal Manchester College of Music (1895) Principal, Royal Manchester College of Music (1896?-1929)

Chamber Ensembles: Second violin in Hellmesberger Quartet (1867) Brodsky Quartet, Leipzig (1882-92). Other members: Ottokar Novácek, then Hans Becker (second violin), Hans Sitt, Novacek (viola), Carl Schroeder, then Julius Klengel (cello) Brodsky Quartet, Manchester (1895-192?). Rawdon Briggs (vln. 2) (after 1920 John Briggs, then Alfred Barker), Simon Speelman (vla) (after 1920 Frank Park, then Helen Rawdon Briggs), Carl Fuchs (cello)apart from the period 1915-1925, when Walter Hatton was cellist.

Pupils: Arthur Catterall, John Lawson, Anton Maaskoff, Alfred Barker, Lena Kontorovich.



Title Composer Work Publisher Publication No. Date
Sonatas for Violin and Piano Beethoven, Ludwig van Violin Sonatas (complete editions) Schirmer 232 1894 View