University of Leeds



View Work

Franz Schubert » String Quartet in D minor, 'Der Tod und das M├Ądchen'

The editions given here were each published separately. David's edition for Senff predates his series of the complete Schubert quartets for Peters c.1872, and differs from it in many details. Jean Becker, leader of the celebrated Florentine Quartet, edited first the Andante, which was published separately by Leuckart in 1869 (see Hofmeister), then the whole quartet a few years later. The Hellmesberger Quartet edited this quartet and the quartet in A minor.


Opus No: op. post. (D. 810)

Editor(s) Title Publisher Publication No. Year
Becker, Jean Grosses Quartett F. E. C. Leuckart (Constantin Sander) 1876 View
David, Ferdinand Grosses Quartett (D-moll) Bartholf Senff Verlag 1868 View
Hellmesberger Quartet, The Quartett Universal 176 1901 View