University of Leeds



View Edition

Ludwig van Beethoven » Violin Concerto » Lauterbach, Johann - Pohle

From Lauterbach's Neue Concert-Studien, vol. 2 no. 4. 

The editor's note on the first page translates loosely as: 

'The number 5 indicates the extension of the 4th finger while the hand remains in  position.

- - - signifies: broad staccato

. . . . . . . signifies: with soft springing bow

Passages without these signs are to be played with a lying [i.e. legato] bow

If the sign =  is marked above or below the fingering, this is not to be understood as in the usual position, but on the next lower string, 4 positions higher.

Fr. = at the heel'

Composer Ludwig van Beethoven
Work Violin Concerto
Title Concert op. 61
Publisher Pohle
City Bremen, Hamburg
Date 1890 (January) [Source: Hofmeister - February 1890]
Publication Number
Instrumentation Solo Violin – 1 Violin
Partly Recomposed No


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
Title page HP598.740 Printed
Violin HP598.740 Printed Printed