University of Leeds



View Edition

Johannes Brahms » Violin Sonata no. 1 in G major » Seybold, Arthur - Anton J. Benjamin

Arthur Seybold became a member of Bulow's orchestra in 1890, where he will have had direct connection with Brahms. The fingering in his edition, despite its late date, is very close to that of the earlier editors, especially in its use of harmonics and its placing of portamento.


Composer Johannes Brahms
Work Violin Sonata no. 1 in G major
Title Sonata No. 1
Publisher Anton J. Benjamin
City Leipzig
Date 1929 [Source: edition]
Publication Number
Instrumentation Violin and Piano – 1 Violin · 1 Others (Piano)
Partly Recomposed No


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
cover & title page A.J.B.9139 Printed
Violin A.J.B.9139 Printed Printed