University of Leeds



View Edition

Johann Sebastian Bach » Suites for Solo Cello » David, Ferdinand - Gustav Heinze

The solo cello suites arranged for violin, as preparatory studies for Bach's solo violin works. Some passages, especially arpeggiated sections, are rewritten, and suites 1-5 are transposed up a fifth. [Note that annotations referring to Bach's original notes give the cello version]. A grey-scale scan of the title page is provided separately from the main text. This arrangement appeared at almost the same time as Gr├╝tzmacher's version for concert performance. Many of the alterations to notes (such as the opening bars of the prelude to the first suite) are common to David and Gr├╝tzmacher. David's source is almost certainly the edition published by Heinrich Probst in 1825, itself a re-engraving of the first published edition, that by Janet et Cotelle (Paris, 1824), but David must also have access to another source, as he does not repeat the egregious errors of the Probst or Cotelle texts.

Composer Johann Sebastian Bach
Work Suites for Solo Cello
Title Sechs Suiten
Publisher Gustav Heinze
City Leipzig
Date 1866 (October) [Source: Hofmeister - December 1866]
Publication Number 114 746
Instrumentation Solo Violin – 1 Violin
Partly Recomposed Yes


Part Plate No. Medium Annotations Musical Text(s)
Violin G114H Printed Printed